Society equity policy for awards, prizes and grants

The Australian Mathematical Society is committed to equity, diversity and inclusion. All eligible nominees for awards, prizes and grants will receive consideration without regard to ethnic background, race, religion, gender, gender identity, disability, age or citizenship status. (flyer; PDF format, 2.5 MB)

Awards of the Society

  • The Australian Mathematical Society Medal
    awarded annually since 1981 to a Society member within 15 years of the award of their PhD, for distinguished research in the mathematical sciences.
  • The George Szekeres Medal
    awarded since 2001 in even numbered years for an outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences.
  • Gavin Brown Best Paper Prize
    awarded for an outstanding single article, monograph or book consisting of original research within any area of the mathematical sciences.
  • The AustMS Teaching Excellence Awards are to encourage excellence in mathematics teaching in higher education.
  • The Mahony-Neumann-Room Prize, awarded for a publication in one of the Society’s journals.
  • The Bernhard Neumann Prize
    awarded for the most outstanding talk presented by a student at the Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society.
  • The ANZIAM Medal
    awarded for research achievements, activities enhancing applied or industrial mathematics, or both, and contributions to ANZIAM.
  • The JH Michell Medal
    awarded to an outstanding new researcher for distinguished research in applied and/or industrial mathematics.
  • The Mahler Lectureship
    awarded every two years to a distinguished mathematician who preferably works in an area of mathematics associated with the work of Professor Mahler.
  • Alf van der Poorten Travelling Fellowship
    awarded in odd numbered years to assist early-career pure mathematicians in travelling in Australia and overseas so that they can enrich their mathematical research through contact with other mathematicians.
  • Walter and Lyn Bloom Travelling Fellowship
    awarded annually to assist early-career mathematicians to spend research time overseas, to present papers at National and International Conferences and to make and maintain international contacts.
  • Lift-off Fellowships
    awarded to jump start the careers of early-career mathematicians by supporting them after the submission of their PhD thesis.
  • WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards
    awarded to provide support for female mathematicians to attend conferences or to visit collaborators.
  • WIMSIG Anne Penfold Street Awards
    awarded to provide financial support to mathematicians for their caring responsibilities, while they travel for conferences or research visits to collaborators.
  • The A F Pillow Applied Mathematics Top-up Scholarship
    an annual `top-up’ scholarship to a student holding either an Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) or equivalent award for full-time research in Applied Mathematics leading to the award of a PhD.
  • The Blue Hat prize
    awarded since 2011 by students for the ‘best non-student talk’ at the AustMS annual meeting.