The Society offers a range of awards and also makes grants to members to further the Society’s objectives. The Society’s awards include:

The George Szekeres Medal

The Australian Mathematical Society Medal

The Gavin Brown Prize

The Rodney Baxter Prize

The Award for Teaching Excellence

The Award for Teaching Excellence (Early Career)

The Bernhard Neumann Prize

Blue Hat prize

as well as travel awards and fellowships. The Mahony-Neumann-Room Prize, for a publication in one of the Society’s journals, is not restricted to members.

The Society’s fellowships and travel awards include:

Lift-off Fellowships

The Alf van der Poorten Travelling Fellowships

The Walter and Lyn Bloom Travelling Fellowships

AMSI/AustMS WIMSIG Maryam Mirzakhani Award

AustMS WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards

AustMS WIMSIG Anne Penfold Street Awards

Please see the attached flyer for more information.

Student travel grants are provided to assist student members to attend the Society’s annual conference. Members selected to the attend the Heidelberg Laureate Forum should apply for travel grants via, by 31 May 2023.

A brief summary of the conditions of the Society’s awards and of awards offered by ANZIAM can be found at Awards. More detailed information can be found via the links to the individual awards.

In addition to support for individuals the Society collaborates with AMSI in providing support for Special Interest Meetings organised by members of the Society.

Society equity policy for awards, prizes and grants

The Australian Mathematical Society is committed to equity, diversity and inclusion. All eligible nominees for awards, prizes and grants will receive consideration without regard to ethnic background, race, religion, gender, gender identity, disability, age or citizenship status. For a more detailed statement on the guiding principles adopted by the Society in regards to grants and awards, please see the attached document.