WIMSIG Executive Committee Call for Nominations

At the end of 2019, WIMSIG will be electing two new members for the Executive Committee, to commence terms in February 2020. The positions that will be open and the length of term are as follows.

  • Incoming Chair, 4yr term
  • Student Member, 1yr term

If you are interested in the opportunity to lead the drive for gender equity in Australian Mathematics, please consider nominating for a position by November 30.

The current Chair, Jessica Purcell (jessica.purcell@monash.edu) is happy to answer any questions you may have about the role of Chair. The current student representative, Kim Becker (kimberly.becker@adelaide.edu.au) is happy to answer any questions you may have about the Student role.

The Returning Officer is A/Prof Vanessa Venturi (v.venturi@unsw.edu.au).

Nominations should be emailed to the Returning Officer, and need to include the nominee’s name, the second nominator’s name, the role, and a statement from the nominee on why they would like to take on the role, which will be sent out to the WIMSIG membership list should there be an election.

Maryam Mirzakhani Prize

In recognition of Maryam Mirzakhani’s remarkable life and achievements, the National Academy of Sciences has established a newly named Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics (formerly the NAS Award in Mathematics, which was established in 1988 by the American Mathematical Society in honour of its centennial). The prize will be awarded biennially for exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician. Nominations for the inaugural Mirzakhani Prize are due by October 7, 2019.

Congratulations to Giang Nguyen

Giang Nguyen (Adeliade) has been named in the 2019 Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. Giang is well known to many in WIMSIG as the inaugural Treasurer (2013-2018) and conference treasurer of the 2017 WIMSIG Conference. We applaud Giang for her excellent research in applied probability and fabulous outreach work.

Congratulations to Sophie Calebretto

Sophie Calebretto (Macquarie) is a finalist in the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science.

Support for Women in Research

A new initiative aims to support women in research and enhance gender diversity in Australian institutions: https://www.womeninresearch.org.au/


Women in Mathematics in Australia Panel Discussion and Round Table

  • Monday 26 August, 2019
  • 6:00pm for 6:30–7:30pm
  • Auditorium 1 (Level 1), Administrative Building (F23)
  • The University of Sydney

Convenor: Prof Jacqui Ramagge (The University of Sydney)


  • Dr Sophie Calabretto (Macquarie University)
  • Prof Nalini Joshi (The University of Sydney)
  • Prof Kerrie Mengersen (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Dr Giang Nguyen (The University of Adelaide)
  • Prof Sylvie Paycha (University of Potsdam)
  • Prof Natalie Thamwattana (University of Newcastle)

The event is free. However, audience places are limited by the size of the auditorium. Please register for this event by emailing David Easdown (david.easdown@sydney.edu.au) by Monday 19 August, with your name and affiliation, and also including any dietary requirements. Refreshments will be served from 6:00–6:30pm and canapes from 7:30–8:00pm in the foyer outside the auditorium.

The following webpage has a link to a map, for locating the venue, for people not familiar with The University of Sydney, and also lists some potential questions for the panelists (updated until the event):


MAGIC Workshop

Applications are open for the Mentoring and Guidance in Careers (MAGIC) workshop for early-career women or gender-diverse researchers with a PhD in mathematical or physical sciences, awarded within the past 7 years.

Successful applicants will receive financial support for airfare and accommodation costs to attend the workshop. Our workshops receive an enthusiastic welcome and are normally oversubscribed, with many interested people turned away due to restricted capacity.

Applications will close midnight August 16, 2019.

The 2019 workshop is organised by Professors Michelle Coote (ANU), Mahananda Dasgupta (ANU) and Nalini Joshi (The University of Sydney). The organising committee includes Dr Merryn McKinnon from the Australian National Centre for Public Awareness of Science, ANU.


University of Technology Sydney

The University of Adelaide

UNSW Sydney

Federation University (Ballarat Campus)

The University of Melbourne


Have you read an interesting article? Have some news? Have an opportunity available?

Please send items to WIMSIG-news@women.austms.org.au.

Note: Newsletters are published on the 1st day of each month (or soon after). The deadline for submitted items is the 27th day of each month.

To keep in touch in between newsletters, follow @wimsigAU on Twitter.