WIMSIG Executive Committee

Thanks to all who nominated and voted in the recent election for the WIMSIG Executive Committee 2022. As of February 1, we welcome two new members to the Executive Committee:

  • Jennifer Flegg (Melbourne) — Incoming Chair (2022)
  • Grace Garden (Sydney) — Student Member (2022)

In addition, Joanne Hall (RMIT) will continue as the Newsletter Editor and Amy Glen (Apple) will continue as the Website Editor. Both Joanne and Amy have served WIMSIG since its formation in 2013 and we are very thankful for their continued service.

On January 31, the terms of the following people came to a conclusion:

  • Jessica Purcell (Monash) — Immediate Past Chair (2021)
  • Ellena Moskovsky (Monash) — Student Member (2021)

A big thank-you to Jessica and Ellena and best wishes for your future endeavours.

Vote on WIMSIG Rules of Procedure document

Thanks also to everyone who voted on the proposed changes to WIMSIG’s Rules of Procedure document. All three proposals were accepted by a large majority: for each question, at least 89% of the votes were positive. The updated document is now available on the WIMSIG website. 

Many thanks to Emma Carberry (Sydney) who acted as Returning Officer for the election of the Student Member and the vote on the proposed changes to the Rules and Procedures document.

Congratulations to Jessica Purcell, the Incoming President of the AustMS

Former WIMSIG Chair — Jessica Purcell (Monash) — has been elected as Incoming President of the Australian Mathematical Society. Congratulations Jessica! You can read an interview with Jessica on the AustMS website.

Follow-up survey for early-career researchers in the sciences

Dr Kate Christian (QUT) is conducting a follow-up research project exploring challenges faced by early-career researchers (ECRs) employed in the sciences in Australia (QUT HREC approval 4846). It is expected that the results will inform recommendations for changes to the work environment and workplace culture for these researchers in Australia. ECRs up to 10 years postdoctoral are invited to participate in this project by completing an online questionnaire. The questionnaire is completely anonymous, and can be completed at a time that is convenient, and it is expected that it should take approximately 25-30 minutes to complete. To participate in the study, please go to https://qsurvey.qut.edu.au/jfe/form/SV_5BGKcYMoKkdwlRs. The survey is open until February 28.

Those who participated in the 2019 survey (https://elifesciences.org/articles/60613) are encouraged to do so again. The current survey is different.


ANZIAM 2022 Women in Mathematics Panel

The Women in Mathematics Panel will be held under the umbrella of the Women in Mathematics Special Interest Group (WIMSIG) of the Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS) from 12:30–2:00pm (AWST) on Tuesday 8 February as part of ANZIAM 2022. It is free to all registrants of the conference, regardless of gender or membership of WIMSIG.

The purpose of the panel is to celebrate women in the mathematical sciences and to support women, and particularly early career researchers, to enter and establish careers in mathematics. Come along and hear about the careers of our featured female mathematicians, discuss issues concerning women in mathematics, and network with fellow WIMSIG members and supporters.


  • Dr Adrianne Jenner (QUT)
  • A/Prof Bronwyn Hajek (UniSA)
  • Prof Nalini Joshi (Sydney)
  • Prof Robyn Owens (UWA)

A Q&A with the panellists has now been published on the AustMS website.

Organisers: Prof Serena Dipierro and A/Prof Xiaoping Lu (WIMSIG)

For information/enquiries, please contact Serena (serena.dipierro@uwa.edu.au).

More details are available on the ANZIAM 2022 website.


The University of Sydney

RMIT University

The University of Queensland

Griffith University (Gold Coast)

The University of Melbourne

Kirby Institute (UNSW Sydney)


Have you read an interesting article? Have some news? Have an opportunity available?

Please send items to WIMSIG-news@women.austms.org.au.

Note: Newsletters are published on the 1st day of each month (or soon after). The deadline for submitted items is the 27th day of each month.

To keep in touch in between newsletters, follow @wimsigAU on Twitter.