Prof Susan Scott awarded Dirac Medal

Prof Susan Scott (ANU) has been awarded the Dirac Medal for the advancement of Theoretical Physics. She accepted her medal by giving a public lecture “Einstein’s Gift: Gravitational Waves and Black Hole” at UNSW on 17th November. Prof Scott is only the second women to be awarded the Dirac Medal.

Cathy Foley appointed as Australian Chief Scientist

Committee for Women in Mathematics (CWM) November Newsletter



WIMSIG Virtual Business Meeting

The WIMSIG Virtual Business Meeting will be held on Monday 7 December 2020 as part of the 64th Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society that will be an online conference, hosted by the University of New England. Anyone interested in WIMSIG activities is welcome to attend the Business Meeting.  

WIMSIG Virtual Forum

The WIMSIG Virtual Forum will be held on Monday 7 December 2020 as part of the 64th Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society. The purpose of the Virtual Forum will be to support women, and particularly early career researchers, to enter and establish careers in mathematics. Come along to hear about the careers of four AustMS 2020 female plenary speakers, to discuss issues concerning women in mathematics in Australia, and to network (virtually) with fellow WIMSIG members and supporters.

After the forum, we will meet in the bar: https://gather.town/app/LoDU11kvpvSwY30D/bigbar 

Women’s Education Forum

Committee for Melbourne, in collaboration with Bank of Melbourne, are hosting a special Women’s Education Forum on the impacts of COVID-19 on women on Tuesday 8 December at 2-3pm: https://melbourne.org.au/event/womens-education-forum-impacts-of-covid-19-on-women/


Have you read an interesting article? Have some news? Have an opportunity available?

Please send items to WIMSIG-news@women.austms.org.au.

Note: Newsletters are published on the 1st day of each month (or soon after). The deadline for submitted items is the 27th day of each month.

To keep in touch in between newsletters, follow @wimsigAU on Twitter.