An Ordinary Member or a Sustaining Member of the Society may apply to the Council to become accredited. The highest level of accreditation is that of Fellow.

To become a Fellow of the Society a member must have demonstrated a high level of attainment or responsibility in an area of mathematics and to have made a substantial contribution to mathematics or to the profession of mathematician or to the teaching or application of mathematics.

Fellows may use the postnominal abbreviation FAustMS.
See the other Benefits of Fellowship.

As at December 2023 the Fellows of the Society were:

A. Albrecht
R.S. Anderssen (M)(H)
A.L. Andrew
B.H. Andrews, FAA (M)
V.V. Anh
G. Auchmuty
N.G. Barton (H)
A. Bassom
M.T. Batchelor (M)
L. Bennetts (M)
E.J. Billington (H)
L.M. Bloom
W.R. Bloom (H)
L.C. Botten
P.G. Bouwknegt (M)
A.J. Bracken
R.P. Brent, FAA (M)
P. Broadbridge (M)
L. Caccetta
L. Carbone
A. Carey, FAA (H)
P. Cerone
W.W.L. Chen
E.K-W. Chu
P.W. Cleary
G.L. Cohen (H)
M.G. Cowling, FAA (M)(H)
J. Croucher
N. Dancer, FAA
B.A. Davey
J. de Gier
F.R. de Hoog (M)
A. Delaigle, FAA
R. Dewar, FAA
J. Dick (M)
S. Dipierro (M)
P.G. Dodds
D.M. Donovan
I.R. Doust
R.G. Downey
Y. Du, FAA
M.G. Eastwood, FAA (M)
P.M. Edwards
D. Elliott (H)
G. Farr
J. Filar
J. Forbes
P.J. Forrester, FAA (M)
A.R. Francis
J.S. Frederiksen, FAA
G. Froyland, FAA
R. Garner (M)
J.R. Giles
M.R. Giudici
H.P.W. Gottlieb
B.F. Gray
C. Greenhill, FAA
R. Grimshaw
J.F. Grotowski
J. Groves (H)
A.J. Guttmann, FAA (M,H)
B. Hajek
V.G. Hart (H)
R. Hartley
D.M. Harvey (M)
A.W. Hassell, FAA (M)
A. Henderson (M)
J.M. Hill (M)
G. Hocking (H)
K.J. Horadam
Y. Huang
R.R. Huilgo
G. Huisken (M)
J. Hutchison, FAA
D.C. Hunt
D.R. Jenkins
M.S.J. Johnson
P.R. Johnston
A.S. Jones (H)
N. Joshi, FAA (M)(H)
S.J. Keith (M)
C.M. Kellett
A.D. Klemm
P.E. Kloeden
S.G. Lack (M)
K.A. Landman, FAA
D. Lee
G.I. Lehrer, FAA (M)
G. Li (M)
H. Li
A. Licata (M)
C.H.C. Little
B.I. Loch
J.P. Louis
R. Loxton
K.C.H. Mackenzie
S. Maher
J. Manton
T.R. Marchant
A.P. Mathas (M)
J.N. Mazumdar
K.L. McAvaney
J. McCoy
B.D. McKay, FAA (M)
G.J. McLachlan, FAA
A.V. Mernone
S.J. Miklavcic
C.F. Miller III (H)
T. Mills
R.J. Moitsheki
A.I. Molev, FAA (M)
W. Moors
S.A. Morris (H)
S. Morrison (M)
M.K. Murray (M)
A. Neeman, FAA
M.F. Newman (H)
M. Nelson
G. Norton
T. O’Kane
T.A. Oliynyk (M)
R.L. Ollerton
A. Owczarek
A.G. Pakes
D. Pask
E. Platen
P.K. Pollett
H.P. Possingham, FAA (M)
C.E. Praeger, FAA AC (H)(M)
G.E. Prince
W. Pye (H)
J. Ramagge
A.J. Roberts
A.P. Roberts
C.A. Rodger
J.H. Rubinstein, FAA (H)(M)
J.E. Sader, FAA
M. Sambridge
S. Scott
G. Schmalz
K.A. Seaton
A.G. Shannon
J.J. Shepherd
I.E. Shparlinski, FAA (M)
L. Simon, FAA (M)
A. Sims (M)
B. Sims
I.H. Sloan, FAA (M)(H)
M. Small
K.A. Smith-Miles, FAA (M)
A. Sofo
P.J. Sokolowski
K. Stacey
P.J. Stacey (H)
R.H. Street, FAA (M)
F. Sukochev, FAA
W.C. Summerfield (H)
J. Sun
P.G. Taylor (M)
P.J. Taylor (M)
T.C.S. Tao, FAA (M)
K.L. Teo
N. Thamwattana
C. Thompson
H.B. Thompson
T. Trudgian
N.S. Trudinger, FAA (M)(H)
J.I.R. Urbas (M)
M. Varghese, FAA (M)
W.D. Wallis
X.-J. Wang, FAA (M)
I.M. Wanless (M)
M.P. Wand, FAA
L. Ward
S. Ole Warnaar, FAA (M)
A. Welsh, FAA (H)
G. Williamson, FAA (M)
R.C. Williamson
G.A. Willis, FAA
D.R. Wood
N.C. Wormald, FAA (M)
S.P. Zhu

(H) Honorary Life Member of the Society
(M) Winner of the Australian Mathematical Society Medalthe ANZIAM Medal or the George Szekeres Medal.

The following Fellows have passed on — may they rest in peace.

E.S. Barnes (H)
J.A. Belward
A.L. Blakers
J.M. Borwein, FAA
V.T. Buchwald
J.M. Cross
C.S. Davis (H)
N.J. de Mestre
J.B. Douglas (H)
J. Gani (H)
G. Gaudry (H)
H.S. Green
P. G. Hall, FAA (M)
T.E. Hall (H)
R.J. Hosking
A.A.T. Howe (H)
B.D. Jones (H)
R.G. Keats
H.O. Lancaster (H)
E.R. Love (H)
M.H. McKay
G. Mercer
B.H. Neumann, FAA (H)
B.J. Noye
C.E.M. Pearce (H)(M)
R.B. Potts, FAA (H)(M)
G.B. Preston (H)
D.W. Robinson (H)
N.F. Smyth
G. Szekeres, FAA (H)
E.O. Tuck, FAA (M)
A.J. van der Poorten (M)
G.E.T. Wall (H)

Updated: 20 December 2023