For announcements of AustMS business, such as awards, vacant positions, upcoming deadlines, etc.

ANZIAM: The 2021 JH Michell Medal — Call for nominations

30 Sept 2020

ANZIAM logoIn honour of John Henry Michell, ANZIAM, a Division of the Australian Mathematical Society, has instituted an award for outstanding new researchers.

At most one award will be made annually, but only to a candidate of sufficient merit. No person can receive more than one such award. The selection criteria for the award are:

  1. The researcher must have carried out distinguished research in applied and/or industrial mathematics, where a significant proportion of the research work has been carried out in Australia and/or New Zealand; AND
  2. On 1 January in the year in which the AWARD is made, the recipient will be within the equivalent of the first ten years of their research-related career*, following the conferral of a PhD**; AND
  3. The researcher must have been a member of ANZIAM for at least the** three calendar years preceding the year in which the AWARD is made. Backdating of membership is not acceptable.


* Allowing for significant interruptions to research development, for example, parental duties, illness, career change. 

** Any exceptional circumstances should be forwarded to the Executive Committee to assess eligibility.


Nominations for the AWARD can be made by any member of ANZIAM other than the nominee. A nomination should consist of a brief CV of the nominee together with the nominee’s list of publications and no more than a one page resumé of the significance of the nominee’s work. Nominations should be forwarded in confidence, electronically in PDF format, to the Chair of the Selection Panel, Dr Alys Clark ( by 1 November 2020

Further details of the application process and the award criteria are on the ANZIAM website:

Social Media and News Co-ordinator position

With the exciting opportunities our new website brings, the Society has created the position of ‘Social Media and News Coordinator’.

We seek a person with a PhD in mathematics, web and social media skills, and preferably also with experience in news curation. Firstly the role services the Society’s social media stakeholders, the new website content management group, conference, workshop and event organisers. Secondly, it curates national and international news feeds for the website, and for social media.

A brief position description is available here. Remuneration offered.

Contact person: AustMS vice-president, Geoff Prince

Applications by email to Geoff closing on Wednesday 30 September 2020.

Accreditation of Mathematics Programs

08 Jun 2020

The AustMS Accreditation Program is under review and a working party is being set up to revise documentation and procedures.

If you are interested in being on the working party to review the AustMS Accreditation of Mathematics Programs please email me on:

Your Diane

Diane Donovan
University of Queensland
T: +61 7 33651354

Award for Teaching Excellence and the annual Award for Teaching Excellence (Early Career)

08 Jun 2020

Members are encouraged to nominate for the Australian Mathematical Society’s Teaching Excellence Awards.

The AustMS annual Award for Teaching Excellence and the annual Award for Teaching Excellence (Early Career) have been established to encourage excellence in mathematics teaching in higher education.

The AustMS Award for Teaching Excellence and Award for Teaching Excellence (Early Career) aim to recognise and reward outstanding contribution to teaching and student learning in the mathematical sciences at the tertiary level.

With these awards the AustMS recognises the importance of quality of mathematics teaching and the impact it has on the training of a future mathematics workforce. Progressive teaching is essential to maintaining high standards across service courses for other disciplines, where high-quality mathematics teaching is of key importance.

Each year a Teaching Excellence Award and a Teaching Excellence Award (Early Career) will be presented at the Annual Meeting, with the prize money for each award set at $1000 per annum. Awardees will be invited to give a presentation on their work at the Annual Meeting and write a short classroom note for the Gazette.

For more details see or email for clarification.

Nominations for these awards will close on 31 August 2020.

Diane Donovan
University of Queensland
T: +61 7 33651354