The George Szekeres Medal was established in 2001 for “an outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences”.
A medallion, bearing Professor George Szekeres’ portrait, was presented to him at the Annual Conference in 2002, the first year of the award.

Prior to 2020 the George Szekeres Medal was awarded only in even numbered years.
From 2021 it is awarded annually, to at most a single recipient.
(Find out more about background and rules of the medal.)

George Szekeres Medal winners to date are: