The Australian Mathematical Society Medal – rules

Rules for the Australian Mathematical Society Medal

  1. There shall be a Medal known as “The Australian Mathematical Society Medal”.
    1. This will be awarded annually to a Member of the Society, for distinguished research in the Mathematical Sciences, who has been conferred a PhD (or equivalent)
      1. no more than 15 years before 31st December of the year in which the Medal is awarded, or
      2. with allowable periods of career interruption that would be commensurate with part 2(i)(a).
      Through to 2023 nominees that are no more than 40 years of age as at 31st December of the year in which the Medal is awarded will also be accepted and the Medal Committee may waive this age limit by up to five years in cases where there have been significant interruptions to a mathematical career.

      The term commensurate allows for part-time employment of equivalent duration to be considered; career interruption should include those accepted by the Australian Research Council in their Fellowship application guidelines.
      The final decision on allowable periods due to career interruption will be made by the AustMS Medal Committee. Likewise, this Committee may accept for conferral of PhD that all requirements for a PhD have been met, or rule that an alternative pathway of recognised distinguished research is equivalent to the PhD requirement. In the case that a candidate for the Medal has not received a doctoral degree, the Committee will make their best determination of a date analogous to that of a PhD conferral.
      Nomination of a candidate for the AustMS medal who has had a career interruption should include a statement to this effect, including a quantification of the total number of years of interruption, plus present details of recognised distinguished research if they have not received a doctoral degree.
    2. A significant proportion of the research work should have been carried out in Australia. 
    3. In order to be eligible, a nominee for the Medal has to have been a member of the Society for the calendar year preceding the year of the award; back dating of membership to the previous year is not acceptable. 
  2. The award will be approved by the President on behalf of the Council of the Society on the recommendation of a Selection Committee appointed by the Council.
  3. The Selection Committee shall consist of 5 persons. Three shall each be appointed for a period of 3 years and known as “Incoming Chair”, “Chair” and “Outgoing Chair” respectively, together with a fourth and fifth person appointed each year for one year only.
  4. The Selection Committee will consult with appropriate assessors.
  5. The award of the Medal shall be recorded in one of the Society’s Journals along with the citation and photograph.
  6. The Selection Committee shall also prepare an additional citation in a form suitable for newspaper publication. This is to be embargoed until the Medal winner has been announced to the Society.
  7. One Medal shall be awarded each year, unless either no one of sufficient merit is found, in which case no Medal shall be awarded; or there is more than one candidate of equal (and sufficient) merit, in which case the committee can recommend the award of at most two Medals.
  8. Nominations for the Australian Mathematical Society Medal should include:
    1. A nomination form to be completed by the nominee;
    2. an extended citation, not more than two pages in length, arguing the case for awarding the Medal to the nominee;
    3. a full list of publications of the candidate, with the most significant marked by an asterisk;
    4. a curriculum vitae of the candidate’s professional career, highlighting any achievements which add support to the nomination; and
    5. the names of three suitable referees, along with a brief statement as to their appropriateness.
  9. All data, including nomination form, is to be submitted by the nominator via the AMPA nominations website.

    Approved by Council in Resolution 75/15(ii)[1993] and amended in Resolution 77/30[1994], Resolution 81/27[1996], Resolution 93/17[2002], Resolution 101/25[2006], Resolution 123/31[2017], Resolution 129/20(i) [2020] and Resolution 131/22(ii)[2021].